Workout Trends

Workout Trends helps you DESIGN an action plan for your life, a program you can follow despite the demands of a BUSY lifestyle, the one that can get you RESULTS. Learn what WORKS and what DOESN'T for your fitness goals.

Read More

Naruto Uzumaki Introduced Me To The Seven Chakras

Fitness, Yoga

Naruto Uzumaki Introduced Me To The Seven Chakras


This Friday night, after putting everyone in the house to sleep, my husband and I, were enjoying our bar of dark chocolate bite by bite together with a shared bowl of Hakka noodles, in front of the laptop! What kept us willingly awake was our recent favorite ‘Naruto Uzumaki’!

Naruto is a Japanese comic series, which has totally thrilled us in the past few days. This little champ is a teenaged Ninja who aspires to become Hokage (the leader of the village) to gain recognition from all.


I munched my chocolate happily as I saw my favorite hero perform the ‘Genjutsu’, a Ninja technique that makes the opponent see illusions. A natural curiosity arose as to how he does it?

He himself resolved it in the very next scene, by talking about the ‘Chakras’! Just as he started to elaborate, did my child wake up, crying and searching for me! I had to put everything aside and attend him at the earliest! But the Chakras (literal meaning: wheels) continued to spin inside my head!

My interest, garnished with my curiosity, found me in front of the laptop again the next morning, searching for this in detail. I knew very well that what I was searching for was just fictitious and nothing of that sort existed! But, to my surprise, it did!

It existed for real as a part of my world, if not as of the Naruto world!

I read and read and read till my curiosity was quenched and I came out with an amazing understanding of the ‘Chakra Concept’.

What is the Chakra Concept?

Remember we were taught in our childhood, that everything around us is some or the other form of energy?

The human body is no exception! It is made up of energy and has energy centers all over. These energy centers, in the yogic scripts, are referred to as Chakras. It is like a spinning wheel that as a result of its spin creates a vacuum at its center, attracting (at its level), whatever comes its way.

The Seven Chakras
Well, these wheels of energy not only attract, but radiate energy too. Each Chakra is connected to some or the other organ or gland of our body (at the physical level) and is also connected to our mental and emotional being (at the spiritual level).

It is believed that there are seven main Chakras in our body, which are lined up along our spinal column. The balance of these determines our physical and mental well being. Any disturbance at any level (like a Chakra being overactive or underactive) upsets their balance which can then be restored only by bringing in vibration of the same frequency.

Where are they located in our body?

The following image will best explain the locations of the 7 main Chakras, which are each associated with a gland, color and function:

Seven Chakras and their Functions

Though I’d do a complete article later detailing the various signs that may point out which chakra is out of balance, I’m gonna give you a brief about it here.

Root or Muladhara Chakra

Anemic? Constipated? Suffering from low B.P.? Time to check your Root Chakra!

This chakra is responsible for giving shape and structure to life and creating self-confidence and trust. It is the closest Chakra to the ground and hence controls our ability to stand up for our self and have the right to exist.

Spleen or Swadhisthana Chakra

Moving to another city? Feeling frustrated and trying your best to avoid this change? Then you need to balance your Spleen Chakra!

The Spleen Chakra deals with all our social issues, like those related to social feelings, intimacy, bonding, sensing etc. It is the emotional powerhouse of the soul.

Solar Plexus or Manipura Chakra

I have to face an interview today. What will the interviewer think of me? Will I look competent enough to join that company? If such questions are haunting your mind, then you got to balance your Solar Plexus Chakra.

This Chakra controls our personal strength, learning and comprehensive ability. It guides one to build self-esteem and a strong will power.

Heart or Anahata Chakra

The Heart Chakra involves the Heart and soul and is responsible for all the love feelings, compassion, connectivity and dependency. It is the Chakra of relationships! So next time when your girlfriend upsets you, refer to the Heart Chakra!

Throat or Vishuddha Chakra

Stage fear? Feeling shy to go and deliver that speech in front of all? Go! Balance your Throat Chakra first!

This Chakra is responsible for truthfully expressing one’s opinions and beliefs. It handles all incoming and outgoing signals and is appropriately termed as the ‘communication centre of the body’.

Brow or Ajna Chakra

Lacking sleep? Day dreaming all the time? Feeling unsettled? Check your Brow Chakra!

This Chakra controls our intuitions and the sixth sense and our ability to receive and deal with non-verbal messages. It is said to be a bridge between the conscious and the unconscious mind.

Crown or Sahasrara Chakra

Suffering from Migraine? Losing focus? Bored in life? Time to work on your Crown Chakra!

The Crown Chakra is the king of your spiritual being. It is one’s bridge to the spiritual universe out there and can help one attain one’s highest spiritual potential.

Are my Chakras out of balance? Find out from this article.

Balancing the Chakras

The following measures can be adopted to balance the Chakras:

  1. Yoga
  2. Color Therapy
  3. Use of Positive Affirmations


Yoga is a fix-it-all alternative to open up and activate, or completely balance your Chakras. Here is a list of poses to help you balance your Chakras:


Poses to balance



Solar Plexus



  • Fish Pose
  • Plough Pose
  • Shoulder stand

Brow and Crown

  • Fish Pose
  • Sealing Pose
  • Shoulder stand


Pointing the prism at the sun and seeing the sunlight break into 7 different colored beams was our favorite pass time during summer vacations, wasn’t it? Who knew those beams, of 7 different colors, carried different energies called color energies. These color energies affect our Chakras.

Some colors have a calming effect on us, while some have a stimulating one. Depending on the requirement; colors of foods, clothing, décor, gems and the like, can be put to an effective use to balance the Chakras.

For instance, if your Heart Chakra is out of balance, flood your house with green plants, wear green clothing, carry or wear green gemstones and so on.


Lie down quietly and focus on the situation of each Chakra. Quietly meditate on an affirmation; e.g. “I am happy, attractive and strong, and I lead a healthy and passionate life” for the Spleen Chakra. Then, imagine a wheel whirling in a clockwise direction in orange color frequency. This will help you balance the Spleen Chakra.

The Chakra system very gently suggests that inner imbalances are not a result of the events happening to us on the outside, but our Chakra imbalances attract or create situations which interfere with our physical and emotional well being.[1]

So, finally the Naruto devotee in me got respite with all the information I read and now I know, why Naruto is what he is!

Time for me to sign off and get some Chakras in place!

More on this:


[1] Pond, David. Chakras for beginners: A guide to balancing your Chakra energies. Llewellyn Worldwide, 1999.^Back to Top^

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2014

Next Scheduled Update: Aug 16, 2014

Comments are off this post!